Join us during our 90 Days for 90 Years anniversary celebration!
Knoxville Symphony Orchestra Moxley Carmichael Masterworks Series: Rhapsody in Blue 17 May, 2018


(plus applicable fees)

Call 865-291-3310, option 4 for subscriptions. Single tickets go on sale August 14, 2017 via the Knoxville Symphony box office,, or by phone at 865-656-4444.

Event Info

The May Masterworks ends the season with an all-American program featuring Aaron Copland (Fanfare for the Common Man), Charles Ives (The Unanswered Question), Florence Price (Piano Concerto), George Gershwin (Rhapsody in Blue) and concludes with Aaron Copland’s Symphony No. 3. Pianist Michelle Cann will perform not one but TWO piano concerti--by Florence Price and George Gershwin, a spectacular season finale conducted by Maestro Aram Demirjian. Ms. Cann holds degrees from the Cleveland Institute of Music and the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia, after which she joined the Curtis staff as one of the new Collaborative Staff Pianists. Michelle is also on the faculty of the Luzerne Music Center as an instructor of piano and continues to perform with orchestras nationally.

Aram Demirjian, conductor

Michelle Cann, piano

COPLAND: Fanfare for the Common Man

IVES: The Unanswered Question

FLORENCE PRICE: Piano Concerto

GERSHWIN: Rhapsody in Blue

COPLAND: Symphony No. 3

This concert will be broadcast on 91.9 FM WUOT radio on Monday, June 6, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. This concert will be rebroadcast on Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.

All students grades K-12 can attend this concert FREE with purchase of one adult ticket as part of the Penny4Arts program. Up to 3 students per adult ticket; some restrictions apply. Must redeem by visiting or calling the KSO Box Office at 865-291-3310 prior to the day of the concert (M-F, 9-5). Offer not available online or at the door. Questions:

Upcoming Shows